Plan a Trip to Edinburgh
This is the index of the practical layer. Everything on it is a decision you have to make to plan a trip to Edinburgh — when to come, what to book before you land, how to get in from the airport, what a day costs to move around, and what to do when a place turns out to be shut. It does not retell those pages; it routes you to the one that answers your question, in the order the questions arrive. Five facts run through all of them and are worth carrying in your head from the start: the castle sells out and the gate holds nothing back, a 5% visitor levy has applied to paid accommodation since 24 July 2026, a bus or tram journey inside the city costs £2.40 (about $3.26) with a £5.70 (about $7.75) daily cap, August belongs to the festivals, and three attraction prices rise on 1 September 2026 when a temporary VAT cut ends. Every figure was read from the operator's, venue's or council's own site on 30 August 2026, in pounds, with a dollar approximation at £1 = $1.36. The sights themselves are catalogued in things to do in Edinburgh, and the city as a whole starts on our independent Edinburgh guide.
Quick answer What to book, what to budget, what to ignore — in five lines
There is exactly one booking that cannot wait: Edinburgh Castle, at £23.50 online against £26 at the gate, because once a date's online allocation is gone the castle sells nothing at the entrance. Everything else in the city takes a walk-up ticket, is free, or is a restaurant table. The rest of planning a trip here is arithmetic rather than urgency.
Key takeaways
- Book the castle first, on its own timed shop or as a guided walk with entry included; the routes and prices are compared on the castle ticket page.
- Budget the 5% visitor levy that has applied to every paid night since 24 July 2026, charged before VAT and capped at the first five nights — what a trip costs puts it on a real bill.
- Moving around costs less than most people plan for: £2.40 (about $3.26) a journey and a £5.70 (about $7.75) daily cap, but only if you tap the same contactless card every time — getting around has the rules that break the cap.
- Come in August and you are coming to the festivals whether you meant to or not; the dates are on the festivals hub and the consequences on the month-by-month page.
- Three prices rise on 1 September 2026 as a temporary VAT cut ends, the largest being the underground close tour at £24.95 going back to £28.50 (about $34 to $39).
The Practical Layer, Grouped By The Stage You Are At
Five stages, in the order the questions actually arrive: choosing dates, booking, landing, filling each day, and recovering when something is shut. Three lines and a link each — the page behind the link carries the figures, the hours and the sources.
Deciding: dates, length, budget
-
When to come
Dates10 min readbook-ahead tier 1 of 3
Temperature barely moves — 5.9°C average high in January against 17.8°C in July — so the month is chosen on daylight, crowds and price instead. October is the wettest month at 89.9 mm, not August, and mid-December sunset is 15:38, which decides how many sights fit in a day.
Tip: April is the driest month at 54.2 mm and September has the fewest wet days at 11.3. Those two months are the answer for most people.
-
How many days
LengthRoutes for 1, 2 and 3 daysbook-ahead tier 1 of 3
The historic core is a mile of ridge from the esplanade to the palace, so a first visit works at two days for the city and a third for something outside it. One day is possible and is a real route, not a compromise, if the castle slot is booked: one day, two days and three days are each written out stop by stop. The two-day plan itself is at Edinburgh in 2 days.
Tip: Each route is ordered around the closed days rather than around the map, which is why the two-day version puts the palace on a Thursday.
-
What it costs
BudgetDaily budget bandsbook-ahead tier 1 of 3
The two figures nobody budgets for are the 5% visitor levy on accommodation, live since 24 July 2026, and the gap between online and gate prices at the castle and the palace — £2.50 and £4 an adult respectively.
Tip: The levy is charged before VAT and stops after five consecutive nights, so a six-night stay pays it on five.
-
Where to base yourself
AreaArea comparisonbook-ahead tier 3 of 3
Old Town puts you inside the sights and inside the noise; the New Town is ten minutes' walk and quieter; Leith is a tram or bus ride and cheaper. In August the choice is made for you by whatever is left.
Tip: August rooms are booked months out. If your dates are 7 to 31 August, book accommodation before you book anything else.
-
Is Edinburgh worth visiting?
The answer in the first line, and the three travellers we would send somewhere else — the sun, the hills, and one unbooked August weekend.
Booking: what to buy before you land
-
Every ticket, compared
TicketsOfficial shop firstbook-ahead tier 2 of 3
The index that puts each venue's own price beside the platform price, official shop first and untracked. Most Edinburgh attractions sell at the door; the exceptions are worth knowing before you build a day around one.
Tip: Sixteen of the thirty-four entries on things to do are free and need no ticket at all.
-
The castle slot
Sells outTimed entrybook-ahead tier 3 of 3
£23.50 online, £26 in person, and Historic Environment Scotland states plainly that once tickets are sold out online there will be no further tickets at the castle. This is the single booking that can wreck a two-day trip.
Tip: A flexi ticket covers any timeslot on any day inside a seven-day window, which is the insurance policy if your dates are loose.
-
City passes
Passes48 hours to 14 daysbook-ahead tier 2 of 3
Three different products with three different logics: the Royal Edinburgh Ticket at £81 for 48 hours with castle, palace and Britannia included, the Historic Scotland Explorer Pass at £48 for 14 days, and the third-party Edinburgh City Pass sold from £70.
Tip: The Royal Edinburgh Ticket guarantees castle entry even when the castle's own site is sold out — but it cannot be arranged in advance of your visit.
-
August and the festivals
SeasonThree weeksbook-ahead tier 3 of 3
Eleven festivals share the year and five share August. The Tattoo sells on a strict no-return basis; Fringe shows go on sale the moment a performer registers, which is why the programme keeps growing during the run.
Tip: No organiser of the five August festivals had published a 2027 date when we checked every official site on 30 August 2026.
Arriving: airport to the ridge
-
Getting around the city
TransportFares and capsbook-ahead tier 1 of 3
One flat fare of £2.40 covers any bus or tram journey in the city zone, children £1.20, with a £5.70 daily cap and a £26.50 weekly cap. Cash on board must be the exact fare — drivers give no change.
Tip: The cap works only through Tap Tap Cap on the same card. Plain contactless on board buys a single and caps nothing.
-
Walking the core
On footAbout a milebook-ahead tier 1 of 3
From the esplanade to the palace is one downhill mile and holds most of what people come for. The catch is the vertical: the Old Town is stairs, closes and steep setts rather than a flat grid.
Tip: The New Town below it is level, which matters more than the distance if anyone in the party finds hills hard.
Every day: eating, weather, company
-
A wet afternoon
WeatherIndoor listbook-ahead tier 1 of 3
Rain here is frequent rather than heavy — 849.6 mm a year spread over 158.8 days with at least a millimetre. The plan is not to avoid it but to have an indoor hour ready, and most of those hours are free.
Tip: The free museums and galleries absorb the wet mornings; the National Museum of Scotland alone can hold a whole afternoon.
-
With children
FamilyFamily routesbook-ahead tier 2 of 3
Child fares are half the adult fare on bus and tram at £1.20, most museums are free for everyone, and the castle charges £14 for a 7 to 15-year-old online. The constraint is stairs and stamina, not price.
Tip: Under-5s are not permitted up the Nelson Monument tower, and the castle refuses prams, suitcases and rucksacks over 30 litres with nowhere to store them.
-
Out of the city for a day
Day trip7 to 13 hoursbook-ahead tier 2 of 3
Stirling, St Andrews, Glasgow, Rosslyn Chapel and the Highlands all work as a day from Edinburgh, on a coach tour or by train. The Highland runs are long days — twelve hours and more — and the coach is the only way to do them without a car.
Tip: ScotRail publishes fares only in its app and at the station: its website blocks automated reading, so no rail fare on this site is presented as verified.
When it goes wrong: closures, money, scams
-
The closed days that break a plan
ClosuresCheck before you walkbook-ahead tier 2 of 3
The Palace of Holyroodhouse is open seven days a week only from 21 May to 14 September 2026 and is usually shut on Tuesdays and Wednesdays the rest of the year. Every palace closure closes Holyrood Abbey with it.
Tip: St Giles' Cathedral opens 13:00 to 17:00 on Sundays, and the Scott Monument shuts daily for lunch, 12:30 to 13:45.
-
Ticket fraud and the emergency number
SafetyPolice Scotland advicebook-ahead tier 1 of 3
Neither Police Scotland nor the council publishes an Edinburgh-specific tourist safety page — we looked. What exists is national advice, and the one page that matters in a festival city is the ticket-fraud guidance.
Tip: Emergency number is 999, with a 999 BSL service for British Sign Language users. Safety and scams has the checklist: hand a fake ticket to venue staff, keep the proof of sale and start a bank fraud claim.
-
Travelling with a disability
AccessVenue by venuebook-ahead tier 2 of 3
The Old Town's problem is gradient and stairs rather than policy: most venues publish a detailed access page, and several lend equipment. Edinburgh Castle charges disabled visitors standard rates with no proof required and admits up to two carers free per transaction.
Tip: The accessibility page collects each venue's own statement, including the mobility vehicle at the castle and the free access-companion ticket at the palace.
Prices and hours read from each venue's or operator's own website on 30 August 2026. Dollar figures are approximations at £1 = $1.36 and are never the amount charged.
How Far Ahead Each Thing Has To Be Booked
The whole booking question in one grid, built from what each seller publishes about its own availability rather than from advice. The last column is the one that decides whether a booking is urgent: what actually happens if you leave it until you are standing there. Read on the venues' own sites on 30 August 2026.
| What | How far ahead | Price as published | If you leave it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Edinburgh Castle entry | Weeks in peak season; days otherwise | £23.50 online, £26 in person (about $32 / $35) | Sold out online means sold out at the gate — the castle holds nothing back |
| August accommodation | Months | Varies; plus 5% visitor levy on the first five nights | Rooms exist, at festival rates, or in another town |
| Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo | Months | Not published outside its own booking flow | Strict no-return basis; resale is the only route |
| The Real Mary King's Close | Days | £24.95 until 1 September 2026, then £28.50 (about $34 / $39) | Specific hours fill; another slot the same day usually exists |
| Palace of Holyroodhouse | Days, and check the calendar | £22 advance, £26 on the day (about $30 / $35) | Closed most Tuesdays and Wednesdays outside 21 May to 14 September |
| Buses and trams | Not at all | £2.40 a journey, £5.70 daily cap (about $3.26 / $7.75) | Nothing — tap and go, but carry the exact fare if you pay cash |
| Free museums and galleries | Not at all | Free | Nothing. No ticket, no slot, no queue outside August |
Sources: historicenvironment.scot, rct.uk, realmarykingsclose.com, edintattoo.co.uk, lothianbuses.com, edinburghtrams.com and edinburgh.gov.uk, all read on 30 August 2026.
The Bookings Worth Making Before You Fly
Guided options that solve the one genuine scarcity in Edinburgh — the castle timeslot — plus the walks that work in any weather and the day tours that cover ground a bus timetable will not. Prices in pounds as listed by the operator on 30 August 2026; every card links to the operator's own page, where the calendar shows what is still open.
from £35
Edinburgh Castle: Guided Walking Tour with Entry Ticket
Castle entry ticket plus a 75-minute guided walk of the grounds, offered in five languages. The tour stays outdoors, and you explore the Great Hall, museums and prisons on your own afterwards.
Check Availability
from £37
Edinburgh: Edinburgh Castle Guided History Tour with Tickets
Tickets are collected before you arrive, then a guide covers the Argyle Battery, Great Hall and St Margaret's Chapel for 80 minutes. Free time inside follows; only English and Spanish are offered.
Check Availability
from £18
Edinburgh: Old Town History and Tales Walking Tour
Two hours through the UNESCO Old Town covering Mercat Cross, St Giles' and the Grassmarket, plus the Harry Potter locations. Ends in the centre near bars and transport; English only.
Check Availability
from £19.44
Edinburgh: Underground Vaults Tour
An hour in the South Bridge vaults with the Burke and Hare murders and the witch trials, and the Torture Exhibition as a paid-up option. The shortest of the vault tours here.
Check Availability
from £20
Edinburgh: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour
A single 24-hour ticket on one 70-minute loop of 15 stops, with a Horrible Histories children's channel. Up to three kids travel free per paying adult, which the multi-route passes do not offer.
Check Availability
from £81
Edinburgh: Royal Attractions with Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tours
Three attractions and 48 hours of buses on one ticket, covering the castle, Britannia and Holyroodhouse. Holyroodhouse closes Tuesdays and Wednesdays outside high summer, with no alternative offered.
Check Availability
from £56
From Edinburgh: Loch Ness, Glencoe & Scottish Highlands Tour
Three separate coaches under one listing: pick the Fort Augustus cruise, the Deanston distillery stop, or the shorter cruise with Urquhart Castle. Every extra is paid on the day, and only the cruise version runs daily.
Check Availability
from £25
Edinburgh: The Scotch Whisky Experience Tour and Tasting
An attraction tour on Castlehill covering all five whisky regions, with a tutored dram and a crystal glass to keep. The Gold option adds four regional single malts in the McIntyre Gallery.
Check AvailabilityPrices, ratings and details are the platform's own, checked 2026-08-30; dollar figures are the listed prices — the platform bills in your account's currency.
The Five Facts That Change An Edinburgh Trip
Every practical page on this site sits on top of the same five figures. They are collected here once, with the source and the date each was read, so the rest of the planning can be done without going back and forth.
None of these is a matter of opinion, and each one changes something concrete — a booking, a bill, a day's routing or a price. If you read nothing else on the practical side of this guide, read the table.
| The fact | The figure | Where it comes from | What it changes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Only the castle truly sells out | £23.50 online against £26 at the gate; no gate tickets on a sold-out date | historicenvironment.scot plan-your-visit, read 30 August 2026 | Book this first and build the day around the slot |
| The visitor levy is live | 5% of the accommodation cost, before VAT, first five nights only, since 24 July 2026 | edinburgh.gov.uk visitor levy pages, read 30 August 2026 | Adds to every night of every paid stay in the council area |
| City travel is one flat fare | £2.40 a journey, £1.20 for children, £5.70 daily cap, £26.50 weekly | lothianbuses.com and edinburghtrams.com, read 30 August 2026 | A day of buses and trams costs less than one coffee more than a single |
| August is the festivals | Fringe 7-31, International Festival 7-30, Tattoo 7-29 August 2026 | Each organiser's own site, read 30 August 2026 | Accommodation, walking times and restaurant tables all change |
| Three prices rise on 1 September 2026 | Close tour £24.95 to £28.50; Dungeon standard £20.12 to £23; Gladstone's Land all rates | The venues' own booking pages, read 30 August 2026 | A trip after that date budgets the higher figure |
What the levy actually looks like on a bill
The City of Edinburgh Council charges 5% of the accommodation element of the bill, calculated before VAT, on every kind of paid overnight stay in the council area: hotels, guest houses, hostels, B&Bs, self-catering flats, aparthotels, holiday lets and caravan sites, including providers below the VAT threshold. It is capped at the first five consecutive nights of a stay, so a week-long visit pays on five nights and not on seven. The provider collects it and passes it to the council.
One exemption is worth checking if you booked a long time ago: stays on or after 24 July 2026 that were booked and paid for, in part or in full, before 1 October 2025 are not liable. Everything since that date is. The trip cost page works it through against real nightly rates.
Why the castle is the only urgent booking
Most cities have several attractions that sell out; Edinburgh has one. Historic Environment Scotland sells a fixed allocation per timed slot and states that once tickets are sold out online there will be no further tickets available at the castle — the gate is not a fallback, it is the same allocation. Everything else in the paid tier either sells at the door on the day, like the whisky tour on Castlehill or Camera Obscura, or fills specific hours but keeps others, like the underground close tour.
The practical rule that follows is simple: fix the castle slot, then plan the rest of the trip around it rather than the other way round. A guided walk with entry included does both jobs in one booking, and the ticket-only routes are compared on the castle ticket page.
Deciding: When To Come And How Long To Stay
Two decisions, and they interact: the month sets how much daylight each day holds, and the daylight sets how many stops a day can carry.
Edinburgh's temperature is almost a non-variable. The thirty-year ERA5 average daily maximum runs from 5.9°C (43°F) in January to 17.8°C (64°F) in July, a swing of under twelve degrees across the whole year, and the rain is spread evenly enough that there is no dry season to aim for. What does move, and moves a lot, is light: sunset runs from 22:00 in mid-June to 15:38 in mid-December.
A December afternoon gives you one indoor attraction and a walk in the dark; a June evening gives you a hill at 21:00. The other variable is the calendar. For three weeks in August the city hosts several festivals at once and behaves like a different place, and for the rest of the year it does not. The month-by-month page has the full climate series and the closures that come with each season.
How long the city actually needs
The historic core is a single mile of ridge, which is why Edinburgh reads as a short-break city and mostly is one. Two full days covers the castle, the palace, the Royal Mile with its closes, one underground tour, one hill and one free museum without hurrying. A third day is better spent outside the city than adding a sixth attraction inside it — Stirling, Rosslyn Chapel or the Highlands all fit a day.
One day works if, and only if, the castle slot is booked and you accept that the palace or the museum drops off the list. The three routes are written out stop by stop: one day, two days, three days.
The cheapest time, and what it costs you
January to March is the cheapest stretch to sleep in Edinburgh and the one with the shortest days: the castle closes at 17:00 from 1 October to 31 March instead of 18:00, and last entry is an hour before that. The Historic Scotland Explorer Pass runs a discounted winter season from 1 November to 31 March, though the winter prices were not yet on sale when we checked on 30 August 2026. The trade is straightforward — cheaper beds and quiet rooms against four fewer usable hours a day. What a trip costs sets the seasonal difference against the fixed costs that do not move.
Arriving: The Airport, And What The First Hour Costs
Three scheduled ways in from Edinburgh Airport, at three prices, and the cheapest is the one nobody mentions. Fares read on lothianbuses.com and edinburghtrams.com on 30 August 2026; the journey time is the airport's own figure.
Three ways in from the airport, at the operators' own published fares and frequencies: the tram everyone knows, the 24-hour Airlink 100 express, and the ordinary city bus almost nothing prints. The tram is the dearest of the three, and it runs to the airport as a separate fare zone.
| Route | Adult single | Return | Frequency | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tram, airport zone | £7.90 (about $10.74) | £9.50 open return (about $12.92) | Every 7 min, 07:00-19:00 | 30 minutes to the centre, the airport's own figure |
| Airlink 100 express bus | £6.00 (about $8.16) | £8.50 open return (about $11.56) | Every 10 min, 04:12-01:00 | 24/7; daily and late caps are not valid on it |
| Service 17 or 18 (ex-Skylink) | £2.40 (about $3.26) | No return ticket; tap and cap | Ordinary city service | City fare valid to the airport since 6 April 2025 |
| Taxi from the rank | Council-set fares, not published as an estimate | - | On demand, East Terminus | Airport calls it 'just a 20 minute drive' |
| Being dropped off | £8.50 up to 10 minutes, then £1 per minute | - | - | Free alternative: Long Stay car park, 30 minutes free, 10-minute walk |
That zone costs £7.90 single, £9.50 open return, with the airport quoting 30 minutes to the city centre and trams every seven minutes between 07:00 and 19:00. First tram from the airport is 06:30 and the last is 22:52; going the other way the first is 05:20 and the last 23:56. The Airlink 100 bus is a 24-hour express service at £6.00 single or £8.50 open return, running up to every ten minutes from 04:12 to 01:00 and every twenty minutes overnight, but standard Lothian tickets and daily caps are not valid on it.
And then there is the fact almost nothing prints: since 6 April 2025 the old Skylink services 200 and 400 have been ordinary city services 17 and 18, so the plain £2.40 city fare now takes you to and from the airport on a normal bus.
What the airport does not publish
Two figures a traveller reasonably wants do not exist on any official page. Lothian does not state an Airlink 100 journey time, and Edinburgh Trams does not state its own airport-to-city time — only the airport does, at 30 minutes. There is no published taxi fare estimate either: the airport says fares are set by the City of Edinburgh Council and leaves it there.
We would rather print that than an invented number. Private hire and ride-hailing cars cannot use the rank at all and must be pre-booked to comply with council licensing, picking up in the charged zone or the free Long Stay car park.
Trams are running the full route
A Princes Street fire in early July 2026 disrupted city transport and produced a wave of pages saying the tram had been cut back. That is over: edinburghtrams.com carried a site-wide banner reading "Trams are running full route from every 7 minutes" when we read it on 30 August 2026, and Lothian's own service-updates page listed a single live diversion, at Eyre Place and Canonmills, with nothing on Princes Street. Check the operator's live status page the morning you travel rather than any guide, this one included — that is what it is for. Getting around has the fares, the cap rules and the walking distances that make the tram unnecessary for most of a stay.
Each Day: Moving, Eating And The Weather You Get
Once the trip exists, the daily questions are small and repetitive. They are also where money leaks, so this is the section worth reading twice.
Movement is the easy part. A single journey on any Lothian bus or on the tram inside the city zone is £2.40, a child 5 to 15 pays £1.20, and if you tap the same contactless card each time the day stops charging at £5.70 and the week at £26.50. Two things break that.
Capping only works through Tap Tap Cap — Lothian's own fares page states that buying on board with contactless is a single "without capping" — and cash on board must be the exact fare, because drivers give no change. The city is also genuinely walkable: from the castle esplanade to the palace is about a mile downhill, and most of what a first visit wants sits on that line. What is not walkable is Britannia at Leith, the Botanics, the zoo and Portobello, which is what the bus is for.
Eating, and what an honest guide can say about it
We do not print restaurant recommendations that no source stands behind. Where this guide names a place to eat, it names the citable list it came from — Slow Food, Michelin, the venue's own site — with the year attached, and where no such list exists it says so. What can be said generally is that the Royal Mile is the most expensive and least interesting eating in the city, that Leith and Stockbridge are where residents eat, and that in August a table without a booking after 18:00 in the centre is not realistic.
Museum cafés are the reliable middle: the Scottish National Gallery's cafés run daily to 17:00 and 16:00 with last orders at 16:00, and the National Museum of Scotland has several.
When it rains, which it will
The thirty-year record says 849.6 mm of rain across 158.8 days with at least a millimetre, which works out at rain of some kind on roughly two days in five, year-round. It is frequent rather than heavy, and October is the wettest month at 89.9 mm — not the summer festival months. The plan that survives this is one indoor hour held in reserve rather than a rearranged day, and Edinburgh's is free: the national museum, both national galleries at 10:00 to 17:00 daily, the City Art Centre, the Museum of Edinburgh and the People's Story cost nothing to enter. The rainy-day page puts them in walking order from wherever you get caught.
When It Goes Wrong: Closed Days, Fraud And The Things Nobody Publishes
Most trips here go wrong in one of three ways: something is shut on the day you walk to it, a ticket turns out not to be a ticket, or a price is not the price you read months ago. All three are avoidable, and one of them is avoidable only because we can tell you what the official sources do not say.
The closures first, because they cost the most time. The Palace of Holyroodhouse is open seven days a week only between 21 May and 14 September 2026; the rest of the year it usually shuts on Tuesdays and Wednesdays, and every palace closure closes Holyrood Abbey with it. St Giles' Cathedral opens at 13:00 on Sundays, not in the morning, which is where most Royal Mile itineraries go wrong.
The Scott Monument closes daily for lunch, 12:30 to 13:45. Inside Holyrood Park, the Radical Road remains closed for falling rock and the High Road and Duddingston Low Road are closed to vehicles, while all park roads shut to cars every Saturday and Sunday. And the castle's One o'Clock Gun does not fire on Sundays or on Christmas Day.
- Palace of Holyroodhouse: usually closed Tuesdays and Wednesdays outside 21 May - 14 September 2026, plus 24-26 December.
- St Giles' Cathedral: Sunday 13:00-17:00 only; guided tours paused for guide training and due to resume in mid-October 2026.
- Scott Monument: closed daily 12:30-13:45; guided tours every 30 minutes from 10:30, last at 16:30.
- Edinburgh Castle: 09:30-18:00 from 1 April to 30 September, 09:30-17:00 from 1 October, last entry an hour before closing, closed 25 and 26 December.
- Holyrood Park: Radical Road closed; all park roads closed to vehicles at weekends, barriers down 08:15-09:00.
Ticket fraud, and what Police Scotland actually says
There is no Edinburgh-specific tourist safety or scam page from Police Scotland or from the council. We looked for one on 30 August 2026 and it does not exist, which is itself worth knowing: any page presenting "official Edinburgh safety advice" is repackaging national material. What does exist is Police Scotland's national advice, and the relevant page in a festival city is the one on ticket scams — fake tickets or tickets that do not exist, sold through fake websites, touts and social media around concerts, festivals and sporting events.
If it happens to you, Police Scotland's instructions are to not use the tickets, explain to venue staff and hand the tickets over, keep the proof of sale and any emails, and ask your bank to open a fraud claim. The emergency number is 999, with a 999 BSL service for British Sign Language users. Safety and scams carries the full checklist, and the festivals hub repeats it beside the box offices it applies to.
The prices that change under you
A temporary VAT reduction, marketed as Great British Summer Savings, cut rates from 25 June to 1 September 2026 at several attractions, and every one of those prices goes back up on 1 September. The Real Mary King's Close signature tour returns from £24.95 to £28.50 for an adult and from £18.25 to £21 for a child; the Edinburgh Dungeon's standard ticket from £20.12 to £23 and its anytime ticket from £24.50 to £28; Gladstone's Land reverts across the board. Camera Obscura ran its own separate 12.5% summer discount to the same date.
If you are reading a price on any site written this summer — including a quote of ours from before that date — check the venue's own shop before you budget it. This page carries the post-rise figure and its check date, which is what the tickets index does on every row.
What no official source publishes
Three gaps are worth stating plainly rather than filling. ScotRail's website blocks automated reading and answers a browser with a bot check, so no rail fare or journey time on this site is presented as verified — the operator publishes fares in its app and at the station, and that is where to get them. The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo does not publish ticket prices outside its own booking flow.
And the winter prices for the Historic Scotland Explorer Pass were not on sale when we checked, so the 1 November to 31 March figures do not exist yet. Where a number is missing on this site, it is missing because nobody official has printed it.
Straight To The Page You Need
The same practical layer as a flat list, for when you know what you are looking for.
Dates and money
Tickets
On the ground
Where To Go From Here
Three pages that take the planning further, each with the fact that decides it.
The full catalogue of sights
Every place worth an hour, grouped by area and numbered to a map, with the official adult price and the time it takes. Things to do in Edinburgh is the answer to "what is actually here"; this page is the answer to "what do I have to arrange".
Thirty-four entries, sixteen of them freeThe events year
Which month carries which event, and — more useful — which organisers have published nothing for 2027. The events calendar dates every row and names the source it came from.
August 7-31, Hogmanay 29 DecemberThe city itself
The Edinburgh guide homepage sets out the whole site in five decisions, from what to see first to where to sleep, with the official price beside each one.
Start here if this is a first visitPlanning Questions People Ask First
What do I actually need to book before I arrive in Edinburgh?
One thing: Edinburgh Castle. Historic Environment Scotland sells a fixed allocation per timeslot and states that when tickets are sold out online none are available at the castle either, so a sold-out date is closed to you. Accommodation is the second, and in August it is the first. Beyond those, the city is a walk-up city: most attractions sell at the door, the free museums have no ticket at all, and buses and trams take a contactless tap. A guided walk with entry included covers the castle slot and a guide in one booking, and the ticket-only routes are compared on the castle ticket page.
How much should I budget a day, and what gets added to the bill?
Movement is the cheap part — £2.40 a journey with a £5.70 daily cap, so a full day of buses and trams costs less than two singles. The additions people miss are the 5% visitor levy on accommodation, live since 24 July 2026 and capped at the first five nights, and the gap between advance and gate prices: £2.50 an adult at the castle, £4 at the palace. What a trip to Edinburgh costs builds those into daily bands rather than an average.
Is a first visit better at two days or three?
Two days covers the ridge properly: the castle, the palace, the closes off the Royal Mile, one underground tour, one hill and a free museum. A third day is better spent outside the city — Stirling, Rosslyn Chapel or a Highland run — than on a sixth attraction inside it. The three routes are written stop by stop at one day, two days and three days, each ordered around closed days rather than around the map.
What is the 5% charge added to my hotel bill?
The City of Edinburgh Council's visitor levy, which has applied to paid overnight accommodation across the council area since Friday 24 July 2026. It is 5% of the accommodation cost, calculated before VAT, charged on the first five consecutive nights of a stay and collected by the provider. Hotels, hostels, B&Bs, self-catering flats, aparthotels and caravan sites are all in scope. Stays booked and paid for before 1 October 2025 are exempt. The cost page shows what it adds to real nightly rates.
Which travel tips actually save money here, rather than sounding good?
Four, in order of size. Tap the same contactless card on every bus and tram so the £5.70 daily cap applies — buying on board with contactless does not cap. Buy attraction tickets on the venue's own site rather than at the door, which is £2.50 cheaper at the castle and £4 at the palace. Build one free half-day around the museums and galleries, which are genuinely first-rate rather than a consolation. And if you are coming for two full days with the castle, the palace and Britannia on the list, price the Royal Edinburgh Ticket against the three separate admissions before booking any of them.
Can I plan a trip to Edinburgh around walking, or do I need transport?
Walking covers more of this city than of almost any comparable capital: the esplanade to the palace is roughly a mile downhill and holds most of a first visit. What it will not cover is the Royal Yacht Britannia at Leith, the Royal Botanic Garden, the zoo and Portobello beach, all of which need a bus or the tram. The real constraint is not distance but gradient — the Old Town is closes, stairs and steep setts, while the New Town below it is level. Getting around has the fares and the walking times together.
When does a price or a date on this page get re-checked?
Every figure here was read from the venue's, operator's or council's own website on 30 August 2026, and the date sits at the top of the page in the freshness box. The known moving parts are flagged where they appear: three attraction prices rise on 1 September 2026 when a temporary VAT cut ends, Lothian and tram fares were last revised on 22 February 2026 and are reviewed roughly annually, and the Historic Scotland winter pass prices had not gone on sale. Where an official source publishes nothing — ScotRail fares, Tattoo ticket bands — this guide says so instead of estimating.
Edinburgh Practicalities On Film
Three first-timer briefings that cover the same ground as this page from the pavement: what surprises people, what they wish they had booked, and what they wasted money on.
EDINBURGH TRAVEL TIPS: 33 Things to Know Before You Visit Edinburgh
The long-form version of the practical layer, from transport to opening hours.
Video: Your Guides Abroad17 Things I Wish I Knew Before Visiting Edinburgh
Mistakes made on the ground, several of them the closed days listed above.
Video: Destination Well KnownEDINBURGH TRAVEL TIPS FOR FIRST TIMERS | 30+ Must-Knows
A first-visit briefing that covers the walking, the weather and the booking order.
Video: Happy to WanderVideos load from YouTube only when you press play.
Page last reviewed 2026-08-30. Prices, hours and terms are set by the venue or operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure