Alnwick Castle from Edinburgh
Alnwick Castle from Edinburgh is the day trip that crosses a border and a calendar. The castle is in Northumberland, in England, about 69 miles south-east of the city as the crow flies, and it is the seat the Percy family have held since 1309 — which is why the state rooms are furnished rather than ruined. It is also the courtyard where the broomstick lessons in the first two Harry Potter films were shot. The two things that catch people out are both on this page: the castle closes for winter in late October and stays shut until spring, and its 20 per cent public-transport discount is sold at the gate only, so booking online to save 10 per cent costs you money if you arrive by bus or coach. Everything below was read on alnwickcastle.com on 30 August 2026. It is one of the days out of the city covered by this Edinburgh travel guide.
Quick answer England, a winter closure, and the discount that only exists at the gate
Alnwick Castle is 69 miles south-east of Edinburgh, over the border in Northumberland, and open daily in season from 10:00 to 17:00 with the State Rooms open 10:30 to 16:30. Adult admission is £22.00 booked online (about $30) or £24.45 at the gate (about $33), and every ticket doubles as a 12-month season pass. The catch is the calendar: the 2026 season ends in the third week of October and the castle's own listing is Closed every day from then until 31 March 2027.
Key takeaways
- Arrive by bus, train or coach and the gate gives 20% off — which beats the 10% online saving and cannot be combined with it. The arithmetic is the single most valuable thing on this page.
- The one coach day from Edinburgh that reaches Alnwick pairs it with the Lindisfarne causeway: nine hours to Holy Island, Alnwick and the Northumbrian coast at £57.80, rated 4.7 from 1,558 reviews — with castle entry sold separately, not included.
- The broomstick-flying courtyard from the first two Harry Potter films is here, and the castle markets it: what was actually filmed, and what the Edinburgh end of the story has to do with it, are two different pages — the city's own connections live on the Harry Potter page.
- The Alnwick Garden next door is a separate charity, a separate ticket and a longer season — it stays open to 1 November, a week after the castle locks its gate.
Key facts
Opening hours
| Castle Grounds | 10:00–17:00, last entry 15:45 |
|---|---|
| State Rooms | 10:30–16:30, last entry 16:00 |
| Great Kitchen | 10:30–16:45 |
| Artisans Courtyard and Dragon Quest | 10:00–17:00 |
| Postern Tower and Constable's Tower | 10:00–17:00 |
| Fusiliers Museum of Northumberland | 11:00–17:00, last entry 16:30 |
Closed The whole winter. The castle's calendar shows every day from 24 October 2026 to 31 March 2027 as Closed, and no 2027 season dates were published when we read it on 30 August 2026
Admission
- Adult
- £22.00 online (about $30); £24.45 at the gate (about $33)
- Reduced
- Concession, 60+ and full-time students, £17.90 online (about $24) or £19.90 at the gate (about $27) · child 5–16 £11.60 online (about $16) or £12.90 at the gate (about $18) · family, 2 adults and up to 4 children, £64.20 online (about $87) or £71.35 at the gate (about $97) · single-parent family £43.10 online (about $59) or £47.90 at the gate (about $65)
- Free
- Children 0–4. A carer's ticket is issued free on arrival with proof of entitlement, and Historic Houses Association members enter free
Planning it
- Time needed
- Not stated by the castle. Our routing: three to four hours for the grounds, the State Rooms and one tower — which is roughly what a coach day gives you
- Book ahead
- Optional — walk-up usually fine
- Address
- Alnwick Castle, Alnwick, Northumberland NE66 1NQ, England. Two sat-nav postcodes are published: NE66 1NG for the admission office and NE66 1HB for the visitor entrance
Four ways to stand in the courtyard, priced from alnwickcastle.com and from GetYourGuide on 30 August 2026. Dollar figures are approximations at £1 = $1.36 and are never what you are charged.
| Way in | Adult price | What it covers | Cancel | Book |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Booked online in advance | £22.00 (about $30) | Grounds, State Rooms, towers, Fusiliers Museum; a 12-month season pass | Not stated as refundable | Official site |
| Bought at the admission office | £24.45 (about $33) | The same visit; upgrades free to an annual pass on the day | Not stated as refundable | Official site |
| At the gate with a bus or train ticket, 20% off | £19.56 by our arithmetic (about $27) | The same visit, cheaper than booking ahead — in person only | Not stated as refundable | Official site |
| Coach day from Edinburgh, 9 hours | £57.80 (about $79) | Transport and a driver-guide to Holy Island and Alnwick — castle entry NOT included | Free up to 24 hours before | Check Availability |
The three official rows link straight to the castle's own price page with nothing added to the URL, and the £19.56 in the third row is our own multiplication of the published gate price by the published discount, not a figure the castle prints. The coach row is an affiliate link to GetYourGuide: the price is the operator's, we take a commission if you book through it, and it costs you nothing extra. Read the third row before you book anything: the castle sells a 10% saving online and a 20% saving at the gate to anyone holding a bus or train ticket, and the two do not stack, so the online route is the dearer one for a visitor without a car.
The coach days from Edinburgh that cross into England
One product on the platform reaches Alnwick, and it reaches it as half of a Northumbrian day that also drives the tidal causeway to Holy Island. The other two cards are the alternative ways to spend a day over the border or in the Borders, listed so you can see what the difference in price and pace buys. Every price, rating and review count below is the operator's own, read on 30 August 2026, and none of these fares includes castle admission.
from £57.80
From Edinburgh: Holy Island, Alnwick Castle & Northumbria
Crosses into England for the Lindisfarne causeway and Alnwick, where the castle and Poison Garden are extras bought at the gate. The tide sets the running order, so the two stops can swap.
Check Availability
from £89
Rosslyn Chapel and Hadrian's Wall Small Group Day Tour
Rosslyn Chapel, then over the border at Carter Bar to Housesteads Fort on Hadrian's Wall, with both admissions listed as included. Ten and a half hours in a mini-coach capped at 16 people.
Check Availability
from £63.33
From Edinburgh: Rosslyn Chapel & Scottish Borders Tour
Rosslyn Chapel with admission in the price, then the Tweed Valley for lunch in Melrose, Scott's View and the Wallace statue. Seven hours, and Sunday departures run the route in reverse.
Check AvailabilityPrices, ratings and details are the platform's own, checked 2026-08-30; dollar figures are the listed prices — the platform bills in your account's currency.
The gate is locked all winter, and the castle's own site says two things about when
This is the fact that ruins autumn trips, so we checked it twice on 30 August 2026 — once in the prose, once in the booking calendar — and got two different answers.
The plan-your-visit page reads: "Alnwick Castle welcomes visitors from spring through to autumn each year, with the 2026 season running until 22 October." The opening-times calendar on the same site shows every day from 1 to 23 October open 10:00–17:00, and every day from 24 October marked Closed. So the prose says Thursday 22 October and the calendar says Friday 23 October is the last open day. One day apart, on the castle's own website, and neither version is flagged as provisional.
If you are aiming at the end of the season, book for a date before the 22nd or ring 01665 511 100 and have them confirm it — do not drive two hours to find out which page was right.
And it stays shut a long time
We stepped the calendar forward to March 2027: every day of that month is listed Closed, and April 2027 shows dates with no hours attached at all. No 2027 opening date is published. The practical rule for a visitor planning an Edinburgh trip: Alnwick is a spring-to-autumn day out only, and from late October to at least the end of March there is nothing to visit.
If your dates fall in that window, the border day that still works is the coast and the Borders rather than the castle — the Hadrian's Wall small-group day runs to a different part of the same frontier.
What is open, and until when
In season the parts of the castle keep six different clocks, and the differences matter more than the headline 10:00–17:00. The grounds stop admitting at 15:45; the State Rooms — the Percy collection, the Canalettos, the interiors the film crews used — shut at 16:30 with last entry at 16:00.
| Part of the castle | Opens | Closes | Last entry |
|---|---|---|---|
| Castle Grounds | 10:00 | 17:00 | 15:45 |
| State Rooms | 10:30 | 16:30 | 16:00 |
| Great Kitchen | 10:30 | 16:45 | Not stated |
| Artisans Courtyard and Dragon Quest | 10:00 | 17:00 | Not stated |
| Postern Tower and Constable's Tower | 10:00 | 17:00 | Not stated |
| Fusiliers Museum of Northumberland | 11:00 | 17:00 | 16:30 |
That is the real cut-off for a full visit.
The 10% online saving costs you money if you arrive by bus
Alnwick runs two prices and five discounts, and one of them quietly cancels another. All the figures below are the castle's own, read on 30 August 2026; the discounted totals are our arithmetic on those figures and are marked as such.
The castle's structure is the usual one — book online and save about 10%, pay more at the admission office — with an unusual exception bolted on. It also gives 20% off to anyone who shows a valid bus or train ticket on arrival, and that discount is "in-person only, not available online".
| Ticket | Online | At the gate | Gate with 20% transport discount | Approx. USD, gate discounted |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adult 17–59 | £22.00 | £24.45 | £19.56 | $26.60 |
| Concession, 60+ and students | £17.90 | £19.90 | £15.92 | $21.65 |
| Child 5–16 | £11.60 | £12.90 | £10.32 | $14.04 |
| Family, 2 adults + up to 4 children | £64.20 | £71.35 | £57.08 | $77.63 |
| Single-parent family | £43.10 | £47.90 | £38.32 | $52.12 |
Because the two cannot be combined, a visitor who comes on public transport and books ahead to be organised pays £22.00 instead of the £19.56 the gate would have charged. Do the sums before you tick anything.
The right-hand columns are ours: the castle publishes the gate price and the 20% figure, not the product of the two. Take the discounted totals as an estimate to check at the window, not as a quoted price. On a family ticket the gap is worth £7.12 — which is lunch.
The other discounts, and the membership that does not work
Northumberland residents get 25% off the gate price with proof of residency and photo ID. A carer accompanying a disabled visitor is admitted free on arrival with proof of entitlement. Historic Houses Association members go in free; English Heritage members get 15% off at the gate; Max card holders get a discounted entry.
And the one that catches Scottish visitors: National Trust membership is explicitly not accepted here. Neither, obviously, is a National Trust for Scotland card — Alnwick is privately held by the Northumberland Estates, not a trust property.
Every ticket is a season pass, which changes the maths
Nothing here is timed and nothing needs booking: the castle states plainly that advance purchase is not required. What it does state is that "all tickets purchased online are season passes, valid for 12 months from your first visit, with unlimited re-visits during opening hours", and that a gate ticket can be "upgraded to annual passes at no extra cost on the day of your visit". Ask for the upgrade at the admission office before you leave — it is free, it is not automatic, and it turns a £24.45 afternoon into a year of afternoons.
For an Edinburgh visitor on a single trip that is a curiosity rather than a saving. It matters in two cases: if you are touring the north of England for a fortnight and might swing back, and if you are travelling with children who will want the Dragon Quest and the broomstick courtyard again on day two. It also explains why the castle does not discount heavily — it is selling a year, not an afternoon.
Getting round it, if steps are a problem
The castle's own warning is worth quoting before you commit a day to it: "As a historic building, some areas include uneven surfaces, steps and steep gradients." Against that it offers accessible facilities, a free carer's ticket issued on arrival with proof of entitlement, and mobility vehicles that can be pre-booked. Ring 01665 511 100 before you travel rather than on the day — the vehicles are finite and the State Rooms are up a stair. The coach day is the harder half of the problem: the operator states plainly that the bus is not suitable for wheelchair users, though collapsible lightweight chairs with removable wheels are carried when a companion assists.
The Harry Potter courtyard, and what the castle will and will not promise
Alnwick markets its film locations on its own visitor pages, and the claim is narrower than the internet's version of it.
The outer bailey is where the flying lessons in the first two Harry Potter films were shot — the broomstick scenes, on the grass under the keep, with the castle standing in for the Hogwarts grounds. The castle sells broomstick training there as a headline family activity, and it is included with admission rather than ticketed separately. What it does not do is publish a timetable for it on the plan-your-visit page.
We looked on 30 August 2026 and found none, so this page cannot tell you what time the sessions run; ask at the admission office when you arrive, and ask early, because the sessions are the first thing families head for.
The interiors are somebody else's castle
Be clear about what Alnwick is not. The great hall, the moving staircases and the classrooms were built and shot elsewhere; what you get here is the exterior and the courtyard, plus the State Rooms of a working ducal seat that look nothing like the films. The castle's State Rooms are also a filming location in their own right for other productions, which is what most "seen on screen" tours here are actually selling.
If the trip is being made for a Potter fan, the honest pitch is the courtyard, the broomsticks and the drive through Northumberland — and Edinburgh's own share of the story, the cafés and the graveyard, is a separate day covered on the Harry Potter page.
Downton Abbey, since everyone asks
The coach operator's own listing for the Northumbria day advertises "famous filming locations from Downton Abbey and Harry Potter" at Alnwick. That is the operator's claim rather than the castle's: the alnwickcastle.com plan-your-visit pages we read on 30 August 2026 market the Harry Potter connection and do not print a Downton claim on them. Both productions have used Northumberland heavily, so the operator is not inventing the region's credit — we simply have not verified it against the castle's own words, and this guide does not print a fact it has not read at source.
Getting there from Edinburgh, and the numbers nobody publishes
This is the weakest-documented leg of any day trip in this guide, and the honest account of that is more useful than a copied timetable.
Alnwick sits 110 kilometres — 69 miles — south-east of Edinburgh in a straight line, computed from the two sets of published coordinates on 30 August 2026. The castle publishes no journey time and no directions from Scotland at all: the only navigational facts on its site are the two sat-nav postcodes, NE66 1NG for the admission office and NE66 1HB for the visitor entrance. Alnwick has no railway station of its own; the East Coast main line calls at Alnmouth, a few miles away, and then a local bus or taxi covers the last stretch.
We could not verify a single rail fare or journey time for that trip: the train operator's site answers automated requests with a bot check, and we tried again on 30 August 2026 with the same result. This page therefore prints no rail figure. Buy at the station or in the operator's app.
Which is why most people take the coach
For a day trip without a car, the practical answer is the guided coach: one fixed departure from Castle Terrace in Edinburgh, nine hours, and the driving, the border and the tide all handled by somebody else. What it does not handle is your admission — castle entry is an optional extra on the coach day, bought at the gate, where your coach ticket does not count as a bus or train ticket for the 20% discount unless the driver's paperwork says otherwise. Ask on board; if it does qualify, the discount is worth more than any online booking.
Driving it yourself
By car it is the A1 most of the way, and the border crossing at Lamberton is unmarked enough that people miss it. Two things worth knowing before you set off: the castle car park is signposted from the NE66 1NG postcode rather than the town's, and the last admission to the grounds is 15:45, which for a leisurely Edinburgh departure is tighter than it sounds. Leave the city by 10:00 if you want the State Rooms as well as the courtyard.
Holy Island in the same day: the tide decides the running order
The one coach day that reaches Alnwick reaches Lindisfarne first, or second, depending on the sea.
Holy Island — Lindisfarne — is a tidal island reached by a causeway that floods twice a day, and the operator's own listing says the order of the stops can reverse to fit the tide. That is not a caveat to skim: it means the day's shape is set by a timetable neither you nor the driver controls, and it is why this trip is sold as a coach day rather than as a self-drive suggestion. On the island the coach gives you free time on foot; entry to Lindisfarne Priory is an optional extra, exactly like the castle, and the mead brewed on the island is the other thing everybody comes back with.
The operator's stated running times are 105 minutes out to Holy Island and about an hour and a half back.
The day is nine hours, departs Castle Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2EW outside the NCP car park, and carries no restroom on board. Children under four are not permitted, and the coach is not suitable for wheelchair users, though collapsible lightweight chairs with removable wheels are carried if a companion assists. Lunch is not included; the stop for it is in Alnwick, which is a market town worth twenty minutes of the time you were going to spend in a queue. The full card has the operator's rating and cancellation terms.
The Alnwick Garden is a different ticket, a different charity and a longer season
Figures read from alnwickgarden.com on 30 August 2026.
The garden beside the castle — the Grand Cascade, the Poison Garden, the treehouse restaurant — is run by a separate registered charity, number 1095435, and admission to the castle does not include it. Its opening hours run 10:00–17:00 from 1 September to 23 October and 10:00–16:00 from 24 October to 1 November for the half-term week, which means the garden is open for nine days after the castle has shut for winter. If your Northumberland day falls in that last week of October, the garden is the visit that still exists.
On price, the garden's own page was showing only its summer-window fares when we read it — a set of online prices labelled "from 25th June until 31st August 2026", the last day of which is tomorrow as this page is checked. Those figures rise when the temporary VAT reduction on admissions ends on 1 September 2026, and the garden had not published its post-September prices. So no garden admission figure is printed here: what we could read expires before most readers will use it.
Check alnwickgarden.com for the current rate, and note that its tickets are non-refundable and non-changeable unless you pay the small supplement for a Flexi ticket.
Alnwick Castle map: the castle, the garden and the coast the coach drives
The castle and the three places the Northumbrian coach day connects it to, with the Edinburgh departure point at the top of the map. Castle and priory points are from Wikidata and OpenStreetMap; the meeting point is the operator's own address.
The other days out, if the castle is shut or the border is too far
Straight-line distances computed from published coordinates; guided-day prices are the operators' own, read on 30 August 2026.
Rosslyn Chapel
The short version of a carved-stone day: a fifteenth-century chapel reachable by city bus, open all year, and the stop on the Hadrian's Wall small-group day that also crosses into England. The Rosslyn Chapel page has the entry price and the bus.
7 miles south of EdinburghStirling Castle
The Scottish castle day, open through the winter when Alnwick is not, with a 25% discount for arriving car-free that works rather more simply than Alnwick's. The Stirling Castle page has the prices and the train.
36 miles north-westEvery day trip, compared
Alnwick is the only day on the list that leaves Scotland and the only one with a hard seasonal shutdown. The day-trips hub sets it beside the Highlands coaches, Glasgow's free museums and the Borders.
The indexAlnwick Castle from Edinburgh: questions
What are the Alnwick Castle opening times?
In season the grounds are open 10:00–17:00 with last entry at 15:45, and the State Rooms 10:30–16:30 with last entry at 16:00; the Great Kitchen shuts at 16:45 and the Fusiliers Museum runs 11:00–17:00. The full table has all six clocks. Out of season there are no opening times at all — the calendar is closed from 24 October 2026 to 31 March 2027.
How much are Alnwick Castle tickets?
£22.00 adult online or £24.45 at the gate (about $30 and $33), with concessions at £17.90 and £19.90 and children 5–16 at £11.60 and £12.90. Every ticket is a 12-month season pass. Before you book, read the discount section: showing a bus or train ticket at the gate takes 20% off, which beats the online saving and cannot be combined with it.
Can I visit Alnwick Castle in winter?
No. The castle's own calendar shows every day from 24 October 2026 through 31 March 2027 as Closed, and no 2027 season dates were published when we checked on 30 August 2026 — though its plan-your-visit prose says the season runs "until 22 October", one day earlier than the calendar. The season section has both versions and the phone number to settle it.
Is Alnwick Castle where Harry Potter was filmed?
The outer bailey is: the flying lessons in the first two films were shot on the grass under the keep, and the castle sells broomstick training there as part of the admission, though it publishes no timetable for the sessions. The interiors were built elsewhere. The film-locations section sets out what is and is not here, and Edinburgh's own share of the story is on the Harry Potter page.
How do I get to Alnwick Castle from Edinburgh without a car?
The practical answer is the guided coach — nine hours to Holy Island, Alnwick and the coast from Castle Terrace at £57.80 — because Alnwick has no station of its own and the nearest main-line stop is Alnmouth. We print no rail fare or journey time: the operator's website blocks every automated read, and we say why rather than copy a figure from elsewhere.
Is Holy Island included on the same trip?
On the coach day, yes — Lindisfarne is the other half of it, reached across a tidal causeway, and the operator warns that the order of the two stops can reverse to fit the tide. Entry to Lindisfarne Priory is an optional extra, as castle admission is. The Holy Island section has the running times and what the fare does not cover.
How much time is needed at Alnwick Castle?
The castle does not publish a figure, and no minimum time is needed — the ticket is valid all day and for a year afterwards. Our routing is three to four hours: the grounds and the broomstick courtyard, the State Rooms before their 16:00 last entry, and one of the towers. That is about what a coach day allows once the Holy Island stop has taken its share, which is why nobody on that itinerary also fits in the garden next door — and the garden is a separate ticket anyway.
The version of this day that works
If you are travelling without a car, book the coach, take cash or a card for admission at the gate, and ask the driver whether your coach ticket qualifies for the 20% transport discount before you join the queue. If you are driving, leave Edinburgh by 10:00, set the sat nav to NE66 1NG, do the State Rooms first while they are open and the grounds afterwards, and ask for the free annual-pass upgrade when you buy. Either way, check the date against the season: after the third week of October there is nothing here to visit until spring.
Who should skip it: anyone whose Edinburgh trip is four days or fewer, because nine hours of that is a lot to spend on a single castle in another country when Stirling is 36 miles away and open all year. Who should go: families with a Potter fan of the right age, anyone who wants the Northumbrian coast and the Lindisfarne causeway in the same day, and anyone who has already done the Scottish castles and wants the furnished, lived-in version instead of the ruined one.
Alnwick Castle on film: the courtyard, the broomsticks and the day out
Three walk-throughs that show what the visit actually looks like — how the courtyard reads against the films, what the family activities are, and how the day runs when it starts in Edinburgh. Ids copied from our verified list, embedded without cookies.
Alnwick Castle tour from Edinburgh — visit Harry Potter's Hogwarts
The trip framed exactly as this page does: an Edinburgh departure that ends in the outer bailey.
Video: Scottish Guided ToursAlnwick Castle Harry Potter filming locations and broomstick lessons
The broomstick training and the film spots, useful for judging whether the family day lands.
Video: Third Eye TravellerA day trip to Hogwarts: Alnwick Castle
A full visit end to end, including how long the grounds and the State Rooms actually take.
Video: Finding WondersThird-party videos. Neither the channels nor the videos are connected to this site.
Page last reviewed 2026-08-30. Prices, hours and terms are set by the venue or operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure