Visit Edinburgh GuideAn Independent City Guide Map
The red sandstone towers of Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum above the trees of Kelvingrove Park, the first stop on a Glasgow from Edinburgh museum day

Glasgow from Edinburgh

Glasgow from Edinburgh is the day trip that inverts the usual arithmetic: the two things worth crossing the country for, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum and the Riverside Museum, are both free, and so is the Burrell Collection, and so is the Gallery of Modern Art. Glasgow Life, the charity that runs the city's museums, prints "Free Entry" on every one of them and asks only for a donation. What the day actually costs is the fare out, whatever you spend on lunch, and £1.80 (about $2.45) a hop on the Subway if you use it. This page has the hours, the two museums the day is built around, the one paid ship on the quay, what we could verify about getting there and what — because ScotRail's site refuses to be read by anything but a human browser — we could not. It is one of the days out of the city covered by this Edinburgh travel guide.

Quick answer Two free world-class museums, one fare, and the opening hour that changes on Fridays

Glasgow's headline museums are free. Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, the Riverside Museum, the Burrell Collection and the Gallery of Modern Art all print "Free Entry" on their own Glasgow Life pages, with donations welcome, and the Riverside adds "no need to book, just drop in". So a day here costs the fare out of Edinburgh, lunch, and — if you use it — £1.80 (about $2.45) a journey on the Subway.

Key takeaways

  • Opening is 10:00 Monday to Thursday and Saturday, 11:00 on Friday and Sunday, closing at 17:00 every day — the hours, museum by museum, because arriving at 10:00 on a Friday buys you an hour on a bench.
  • The two that make the day are Kelvingrove, with the 1901 organ played free every day, and the Riverside, whose recreated cobbled street has a subway station in it. They are 1.4 miles apart along the Clyde.
  • No tour in this catalogue goes to Glasgow at all, and we say so rather than sell you a substitute — the nearest guided days run west to the lochs, like Loch Lomond, the Kelpies and Stirling. A Glasgow day is one you do yourself.
  • Nobody publishes an Edinburgh–Glasgow fare we can quote: the operator's site blocks us, so this page prints no rail figure at all. The other side of that is what the Subway costs, which is published to the penny.

Key facts

Opening hours

Monday–Thursday (all Glasgow Life museums)10:00–17:00
Friday11:00–17:00
Saturday10:00–17:00
Sunday11:00–17:00

Closed None listed by Glasgow Life for Kelvingrove or the Riverside

Admission

Adult
Free — Kelvingrove, the Riverside, the Burrell Collection and GoMA all print "Free Entry", donations welcome
Reduced
The Tall Ship Glenlee beside the Riverside charges £5.50 adults (about $7) and £3.70 children (about $5)
Free
Everyone, every day, at the four Glasgow Life museums on this page

Official ticket office →

Planning it

Time needed
Not stated by Glasgow Life. Our routing: two hours in Kelvingrove, ninety minutes at the Riverside, and the day still ends in Edinburgh for dinner
Book ahead
Optional — walk-up usually fine
Address
Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8AG. The Riverside Museum publishes no street address at all — Glasgow Life gives a Google Maps link instead, and the only postal address on its page is the head office at 38 Albion Street, G1 1LH

There is no Glasgow ticket to compare, so this table sets the four things you might actually pay for against the four that cost nothing. Museum prices are Glasgow Life's own, read on glasgowlife.org.uk on 30 August 2026; the ship's are from thetallship.com the same day.

What you pay forPriceWhat it coversBook ahead Book
Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum Free The whole building, 22 galleries, the Dalí and the daily organ recital No — walk in Official site
Riverside Museum Free The transport collection, the recreated street and the Clyde frontage "No need to book, just drop in" Official site
The Burrell Collection, Pollok Country Park Free William Burrell's collection in the rebuilt park pavilion, 3 miles south No — walk in Official site
The Tall Ship Glenlee, moored at the Riverside £5.50 adult (about $7); £3.70 child (about $5) The 1896 barque itself — a separate operator, not part of the museum Not stated; check it is open before you cross the quay Official site
Guided coach day west from Edinburgh, 9 hours £57 (about $78) The Kelpies, Loch Lomond and Stirling Castle — not Glasgow Free up to 24 hours before Check Availability

The four official rows link straight to the venue with nothing added to the URL. The last row is an affiliate link to GetYourGuide and is included to be honest about the alternative, not to redirect you: it does not go to Glasgow. We take a commission if you book through it, at no extra cost to you. The coach price is the operator's, listed in pounds on GetYourGuide. Dollar figures are approximations at £1 = $1.36 and are never what you are charged.

What you can book from Edinburgh — and why Glasgow is not on the list

Worth stating plainly, because every other page you will read on this subject buries it: there is no Glasgow day tour in this catalogue. GetYourGuide's Edinburgh page sells the Highlands, the lochs and the castles, and the reason is commercial rather than mysterious — a city with free museums and no queue has nothing for an operator to resell. The three cards below are the guided days that run west and north instead, listed so you can see what the alternative to a self-guided Glasgow day actually is. Prices, ratings and review counts are the operators' own, read on 30 August 2026.

The Kelpies horse-head sculptures photographed on a Loch Lomond and Stirling Castle day tour from Edinburgh from £57

From Edinburgh: Loch Lomond, Stirling Castle & Kelpies Tour

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 4.6(2,660 reviews)· 9 hours

Kelpies, Balloch, the Trossachs and Stirling in nine hours, with both the Loch Lomond cruise and the castle entry sold as extras. The itinerary can run in reverse, so the castle may come first.

Check Availability
Small-group minibus passengers below Stirling Castle on a Loch Lomond and Kelpies day tour from Edinburgh from £60

From Edinburgh: Loch Lomond, Kelpies & Stirling Castle Tour

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 4.7(1,227 reviews)· 9 hours

Rabbie's sells Stirling Castle admission inside the ticket, with fast-track entry if you take that option; buy on arrival and entry is not guaranteed. Nine hours via the Kelpies, Balmaha and Aberfoyle.

Check Availability
Highland cow beside the tour bus on a Stirling Castle, Kelpies and Loch Lomond day trip from Edinburgh from £52

From Edinburgh: Stirling Castle, Kelpies and Loch Lomond

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 4.7(1,172 reviews)· 10 hours

Ten hours for the same three sights, with a hairy-coo stop and the Duke's Pass added, and both the cruise and castle entry paid on the day. Bring cash; missed departures are non-refundable.

Check Availability

Prices, ratings and details are the platform's own, checked 2026-08-30; dollar figures are the listed prices — the platform bills in your account's currency.

The opening hours, and the Friday that catches people out

Every Glasgow Life museum keeps the same four-pattern week, read on each venue's own page on 30 August 2026. It is not the pattern anyone expects, so it goes first.

Two of the four opening times are 10:00 and two are 11:00, and the late ones are Friday and Sunday — the two days most weekend visitors from Edinburgh actually travel. Nothing closes for lunch, everything shuts at 17:00, and Glasgow Life lists no closed days for Kelvingrove or the Riverside.

DayKelvingroveRiversideBurrell CollectionGoMA
Monday–Thursday10:00–17:0010:00–17:0010:00–17:0010:00–17:00
Friday11:00–17:0011:00–17:0011:00–17:0011:00–17:00
Saturday10:00–17:0010:00–17:0010:00–17:0010:00–17:00
Sunday11:00–17:0011:00–17:0011:00–17:0011:00–17:00

Plan the arrival around the later hour and the day works; plan it around the earlier one and you will be standing on Argyle Street at 10:05 on a Friday with an hour to fill.

What that means for the last train home

A 17:00 closing time is the day's real constraint, not the journey. Leave Edinburgh mid-morning and you have five or six hours on the ground, which is two museums and a sandwich rather than four museums and a march. If you want the Burrell as well, it has to be a second visit or a very early start; it sits three miles south of the centre in Pollok Country Park and eats a good ninety minutes of travelling by itself.

Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum: free, enormous, and 125 years old this year

Argyle Street, G3 8AG. Everything in this section comes from Kelvingrove's own Glasgow Life page, read on 30 August 2026.

Kelvingrove is the reason the day works. It is a single red sandstone building holding both the art and the natural history of a city that could afford to buy whatever it wanted in 1901, and Glasgow Life charges nothing to walk into it. The gallery's own "top ten must see" starts with Salvador Dalí's Christ of St John of the Cross, which now has an enhanced ground-floor display, and runs through Alasdair Gray's Cowcaddens Streetscape — the painting Gray himself called his "best big oil painting" — to the Chevalière d'Éon in the Fragile Art Gallery.

The building is marking its 125th anniversary this year.

The organ recital nobody tells you about

The museum's page lists "Free daily organ recitals" on its 1901 Lewis and Co organ, in the central hall, at no charge. It is the one thing here that is a scheduled event rather than a display, it fills the hall with people who came for a painting, and it costs nothing. Glasgow Life does not print the recital time on the venue overview — check the What's On listing for the day you go rather than trusting a blog.

The one thing inside that is not free

"Barbie: The Exhibition" runs from Saturday 13 June to Sunday 18 October 2026 in the building and needs a separate paid ticket. Glasgow Life does not print its price on the venue page — the page says only "Buy tickets now" — so no figure for it appears here. If you are coming for the permanent collection, none of this affects you; entry to the museum itself stays free while the show is on.

A second temporary display, "Who was Chevalière d'Éon?", runs from 6 July 2026 to 1 July 2027 and is part of the free galleries.

Do not drive to it

Spaces on the west side of the building have been closed since 18 August 2025, "significantly limiting the availability of parking". Glasgow Life counts 58 spaces left in the car park, of which 10 are blue-badge bays, 2 are EV charging and 1 is a motorbike bay; payment is by coins or the RingGo app. The alternative it names is Bunhouse Road next to the Kelvin Hall, which it warns "is likely to be very busy".

Conservation and repair work on the stonework, roof and windows began in September 2025 and the museum stays open throughout. Kelvinhall Subway station is about half a mile away; buses 2, 3, 17 and 77 stop at the Argyle Street front entrance.

The Riverside Museum: the address nobody publishes

We went looking for the Riverside's street address to print it here, the way this guide prints every other address. Glasgow Life does not publish one, and that is worth reporting rather than papering over.

The Riverside's own venue page gives opening hours, free entry, a car-park tariff, transport directions and a Google Maps link — but no street address. The only postal address anywhere on it is Glasgow Life's head office, Commonwealth House, 38 Albion Street, G1 1LH, which is a mile and a half away in the Merchant City and will send a taxi to the wrong side of town. We checked again on 30 August 2026 and it is still not there.

Two second-hand answers exist: the Tall Ship moored alongside publishes 150 Pointhouse Place, G3 8RS on its own site, and OpenStreetMap contributors place the museum at 100 Pointhouse Place. Neither is Glasgow Life's own word, so treat both as a pin rather than a citation, and navigate by the museum's name.

What is inside

It is the city's transport and industry museum, in Zaha Hadid's zig-zag shed on the north bank of the Clyde: shipbuilding, locomotive works, trams, and the collection's centrepiece, a recreated cobbled Glasgow street lined with shops, houses and its own subway station. A retired SPT subway carriage joined the collection here. Outside there is a skate spot with five built obstacles and the first purpose-built 3x3 basketball court in the city.

The museum's own line on booking is unambiguous: "Free Entry - no need to book, just drop in."

The ship alongside is a different ticket

The Tall Ship Glenlee, the 1896 barque tied up at the quay, is not part of the museum and not run by Glasgow Life. Its own site prices admission at £5.50 for adults (about $7) and £3.70 for children (about $5) from 150 Pointhouse Place, G3 8RS. When we read that page on 30 August 2026 it also carried a notice that the ship was closed for maintenance and would reopen on the 29th, with no month printed beside the date — so check before you walk across the quay expecting to board.

Getting there from Kelvingrove, and the car park you should skip

Glasgow Life's own figures: Partick interchange is 0.6 miles from the museum, and Govan subway station is 0.3 miles, "a 5 minute walk from the Govan subway station to the museum, if you use the Govan - Partick Bridge". The two museums are about 1.4 miles apart on foot along the Clyde.

StayRiverside car parkApprox. USD
Up to 1 hour£3.00$4.08
1–2 hours£5.00$6.80
2–3 hours£7.50$10.20
3–10 hours£10.00$13.60
Overnight flat rate, 18:00–08:00£3.00$4.08

Driving is the worst option here, and the museum says so itself: "the car park capacity is reduced and there's now approx 100 spaces available… We strongly recommend using public transport if possible."

Maximum stay is 10 hours and the machines now take cash and contactless. Read against the Subway fares below, the arithmetic is brutal: three hours of parking costs more than two adult all-day Subway tickets, and you still have to get the car to Glasgow.

What it costs to move around Glasgow once you are there

Glasgow Subway fares as published by Strathclyde Partnership for Transport on spt.co.uk, read on 30 August 2026; SPT does not state when the fares took effect. Dollar figures are approximations at £1 = $1.36.

Ticket Contactless Paper adult Paper child What it is for
Single journey £1.80 (about $2.45) £1.85 (about $2.52) £0.95 (about $1.29) One hop — Buchanan Street to Kelvinhall, say
Return Two singles £3.50 (about $4.76) £1.70 (about $2.31) Out and back to one museum
All day, unlimited £3.40 (about $4.62) £4.45 (about $6.05) £2.25 (about $3.06) The two-museum day — this is the one to buy
7 days £15.50 capped Monday–Sunday (about $21) £15.50 smartcard (about $21) Reduced rate, not stated Irrelevant for a day trip; listed for completeness

Contactless is the cheaper way for a visitor at every level, and SPT's own instruction is to tap the same card or device in and out or you overpay. On a Sunday the Subway does not start until 10:00 and stops at 18:12, which is the same day the museums open at 11:00 — a Sunday in Glasgow is a shorter day than it looks. The Subway is a single circle line: it runs 06:30 to 23:40 Monday to Saturday and 10:00 to 18:12 on Sunday, with trains every four minutes at peak times.

Getting there from Edinburgh: what we can verify, and what nobody will let us read

This site prints fares it has read on the operator's own page. For the Edinburgh–Glasgow journey, that turned out to be impossible, and the honest version of that is more useful than a number copied off an aggregator.

ScotRail's website answers automated requests with a Cloudflare bot check. We tried it again on 30 August 2026 — plain fetch, a full browser user-agent, and a headed session — and got the same interstitial every time. So this page prints no rail fare and no rail journey time, because we cannot stand behind either.

Buy at the station or in the operator's own app, where the price you see is the price you pay. The same wall stopped us at the coach operators' timetable pages.

The distance, which at least is arithmetic

Edinburgh and Glasgow sit 67 kilometres apart in a straight line — 41.6 miles — computed from the two cities' published Wikidata coordinates on 30 August 2026. By road it is further, because the M8 bends; by rail it is the busiest inter-city corridor in Scotland with several operators' trains an hour between the two, from Edinburgh Waverley and from Haymarket. That is the shape of the thing: near enough that Glaswegians commute, far enough that you should treat the return as fixed and be at the station before 18:00 if you want dinner in Edinburgh.

Which Glasgow station you want

Trains from Edinburgh Waverley arrive at Glasgow Queen Street, in the centre, five minutes' walk from Buchanan Street Subway. That matters for this itinerary: from Buchanan Street the Subway runs west to Kelvinhall for Kelvingrove and on to Govan for the Riverside, which is why the all-day Subway ticket in the table above does the whole day's moving for £3.40 contactless. Glasgow Central, the other big station, serves the trains from the south and from Pollokshaws West for the Burrell.

If you would rather be driven

There is no coach day to Glasgow to book, and no honest way to pretend otherwise. What the platform sells from Edinburgh runs the other way — Loch Lomond, the Kelpies and Stirling in nine hours at £57 (about $78), or the small-group version with the castle entry included at £60 (about $82). Those are good days out.

They are not this one, and a reader who wants Kelvingrove should take the train.

The other free museums, if Glasgow earns a second visit

Two more Glasgow Life venues are free, keep the same hours and are worth naming, with the figures read from their own pages on 30 August 2026.

The Burrell Collection, Pollok Country Park

Pollokshaws Road, G43 1AT, free entry, and the one that most rewards a return trip: William Burrell's collection of medieval tapestry, Chinese ceramics and Degas, in a pavilion rebuilt inside a country park. Glasgow Life's own directions are buses 57 and 57A from the city centre to a stop directly opposite the park entrance, or a train from Glasgow Central to Pollokshaws West, "less than a 5 minute walk" from the nearest park entrance at 2060 Pollokshaws Road. It is roughly three miles south of the centre, off the Subway circle, which is why it does not belong in a first day out of Edinburgh.

Gallery of Modern Art

Royal Exchange Square, G1 3AH, free entry, in the neoclassical merchant's house behind the equestrian statue that the city keeps re-crowning with a traffic cone. It is four minutes' walk from Queen Street station, which makes it the museum to fill an awkward hour before the train home rather than a destination in its own right.

Add them up and Glasgow's four headline collections cost nothing between them, which is the argument this whole page rests on. Edinburgh's equivalent is the National Museum of Scotland, also free, also excellent — so the case for the trip is not that Glasgow gives you a free museum, it is that it gives you a different one, in a Victorian industrial city that looks and sounds nothing like the one you left at breakfast.

Glasgow map: the two museums, the Subway stops and the Clyde

Kelvingrove and the Riverside with the Subway stations Glasgow Life names in its own directions, plus the two free museums for a second day. Museum points are from Wikidata and OpenStreetMap; the station points are OpenStreetMap.

Free entry
Paid entry
Stations and interchanges

The other days out of Edinburgh, and how Glasgow compares

Distances are straight-line figures we computed from published coordinates; the guided-day prices are the operators' own, read on 30 August 2026.

Stirling Castle

The day out that is a single ticketed monument rather than a city, and the one the coaches actually sell. If you want a guide and a seat rather than a station, the nine-hour Loch Lomond and Stirling day is the closest thing to a driven version of a westward trip — the Stirling Castle page has the entry prices and the car-free discount.

36 miles north-west

St Andrews

The other city day: smaller, colder, and built around a ruined cathedral and a golf course instead of two free museums. It reads as the opposite trip to this one, and the St Andrews page sets out what it costs.

31 miles north-east

Every day trip, compared

Glasgow is the cheapest day on the list and the only one with no tour attached. The day-trips hub puts it beside the Highlands coaches, the Borders and Alnwick Castle over the English border, with the travel time and the real cost of each.

The index

Glasgow from Edinburgh: questions

How far is Glasgow from Edinburgh?

67 kilometres — 41.6 miles — in a straight line, computed on 30 August 2026 from the two cities' published Wikidata coordinates. By road and rail it is further, because neither runs straight. We deliberately print no rail journey time: the operator's site blocks every automated read, as this section explains, so any figure here would be copied rather than checked.

Is Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum really free?

Yes. Its Glasgow Life page prints "Free Entry" with donations welcome, and that covers all the permanent galleries, the Dalí and the daily organ recital. The exception is the ticketed temporary show — "Barbie: The Exhibition", 13 June to 18 October 2026 — whose price the venue does not publish. The Kelvingrove section has the rest, including the parking closure.

Do I need to book the Riverside Museum?

No. The museum's own words are "Free Entry - no need to book, just drop in." What it does ask is that you leave the car behind — the car park is down to about 100 spaces and fills at weekends, and its tariff is in the Riverside section beside the Subway fares that undercut it.

Can I do Kelvingrove and the Riverside in the same day?

Comfortably. They are about 1.4 miles apart along the Clyde and both are on the Subway circle — Kelvinhall for one, Govan for the other, with Glasgow Life's own 5-minute walk over the Govan–Partick Bridge at the far end. Allow two hours in Kelvingrove and ninety minutes at the Riverside and you are back at Queen Street before the museums close at 17:00. The fares table prices the moving about.

Is a day in Glasgow worth it when you are based in Edinburgh?

If you like museums, yes — this is the only day out of the city where the two headline attractions cost nothing and are genuinely world-class. If you want castles, lochs or scenery, no: spend the day on Stirling Castle or a Highlands coach like the Loch Lomond and Kelpies run instead. Glasgow is a city day, not a landscape day.

What does it cost to get around Glasgow once you are there?

£3.40 contactless for unlimited Subway travel all day, or £4.45 for the paper all-day ticket (about $4.62 and $6.05), read from SPT's own fares page on 30 August 2026. A single is £1.80 contactless. On Sunday the Subway runs only 10:00 to 18:12 — the fares and hours are in the table.

Is there a guided Glasgow tour from Edinburgh in this catalogue?

No, and we would rather say so than sell you something else. The guided days on the platform run west and north to the lochs and castles — Loch Lomond, the Kelpies and Stirling or the small-group version — and none of them stops in Glasgow. For Glasgow, the train and a £3.40 Subway ticket are the whole plan.

The version of this day that works

Take a mid-morning train, buy a contactless all-day Subway fare, and give Kelvingrove until about half past one — the organ, the Dalí, the natural history balcony. Eat in the West End, then take the Subway to Govan and walk the Govan–Partick Bridge to the Riverside for the street scene and the ships, which is ninety minutes well spent even if you have no interest in trams. That leaves the Clyde walk back towards the centre if the weather holds, and Queen Street in time for a train that puts you in Edinburgh for dinner.

Total outlay: the fare, one lunch and £3.40.

What to skip on a first day: the Burrell, which is lovely and three miles in the wrong direction; the car, for the reasons the museums themselves publish; and any plan that starts before 11:00 on a Friday or a Sunday. If the forecast is bad, this is the day trip to bring forward — everything on it is indoors, which is not true of the Highlands coaches or of a walk up Arthur's Seat at home.

One question the search box asks constantly deserves a straight answer: is Glasgow as beautiful as Edinburgh? No, and not in the same currency. Edinburgh is a skyline city — a castle on a rock, a ridge of tenements, a Georgian grid.

Glasgow is a Victorian merchant city of red and blond sandstone laid out flat, and its beauty is in single buildings rather than in views: Kelvingrove's towers, the Mackintosh interiors, the Clyde. Come for the collections and the architecture at street level, not for the panorama, and the day rewards you. The same question in reverse — whether a Glasgow-based traveller should make the day trip to Edinburgh — has an easier answer, since everything on the Edinburgh guide is an hour or so away by the same trains.

If you would rather be driven west than take the train

No coach day in this catalogue goes to Glasgow — the honest alternative is the nine-hour run to the Kelpies, Loch Lomond and Stirling Castle, £57, rated 4.6 from 2,660 reviews. For Glasgow itself, the station and a £3.40 Subway ticket are the whole booking.

Free cancellation up to 24 hours before. Prices are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout. Checked 30 August 2026.

Check Availability

Page last reviewed 2026-08-30. Prices, hours and terms are set by the venue or operator and confirmed at checkout.

We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure

Edinburgh tickets from £15 See the tickets compared